Who I Am

He looks in the mirror

Disgusted with what he sees

Where was the boy who obeyed

Against his will??

Who never did wrong??

A life of drugs and drinking

To have this double life

Angry at who he is and what he’s become

He smashes the pane of glass

And screams….

Is this  who I am??

Is this who I’ve become??

Is the person I was destined to be

when time began??

Is this who I am?

She pauses to check

That she’s perfect

Amazed at how she looks

Bile rises again

The price she pays

For being one of them

The outfit entices all

She throws herself away

Broken and hurt

She screams…

Is this who I am??

Is this who I’ve become??

Is this the person I was destined to be

when time began??

Is this who I am??

My child

Listen to the words I say

My love is for you

I made you perfect

Your gifts are yours alone

Fall on me

I love you

Girl – I will not listen to the lies of those around me

Boy – I will not be who they say I am

Both – I will be who they say I am

This is who I am

This is who I’ve become

This is the person I destined to be

When time began

This is who I am

Leave a Reply

