Running towards the goal…

….is harder than it sounds/looks. I have a fellow blogger named Christopher Fletcher who is currently in Boston for the Boston Marathon. Even if you know nothing about the world of marathons, cross-country, etc, you know this is the marathon to run in and he’s running in it. I have several friends who run cross-country and/or track (yes, they are two different things) and a couple of them won medals in today race in Broadway.

Wanna know what they have in common? Other than being friends with me? Their training. Christopher didn’t wake up and say, “You know, I think I’m gonna run the Boston marathon in a couple of weeks,” without having prior training. Alex, Max and Allegra Hogan didn’t run their 5k today without having trained first. P.s. Congrats to the Hogans for placing high in your divisions and Chris, we hope you do well.

Chris and the Hogans have been training for years for these moments in their lives. When Chris isn’t running, he swimming or biking or on the treadmill. When the Hogans aren’t running 5ks, they are in cross-country, track, swimming, or a combination of the three. The point is – they trained. They sweated, they cried out in pain, they probably got sick more than once, they felt like giving up and if any of them had, they wouldn’t be where they are today.

My Training:

My first ‘official’ run since middle school was this past Sunday after a concert. Justin and I were walking back to our cars and Justin said, “Hey, wanna run?” I was like, “Sure, but mind you, I’m a sprinter.” His reply was, “I hate sprinting. I prefer long runs.” Darn it – I was never good at that. Nevertheless, partly because I hate looking like a failure (especially in front of someone I love) and partly because I love challenges and partly because if it would make him happy, then I was gonna go with it (within limits, of course). I was able to run longer than I thought (that was the ‘don’t-wanna-look-like-a-failure thought process) but eventually I had to stop. I don’t know if he thought I was a wimp or what, but it was really embarrassing to me because I couldn’t keep up with my military boyfriend. About an hour I came back from my second run. Let’s just say, it wasn’t that good. Let me explain my track to you: flat, then downhill, flat, uphill, uphill, slight downhill, then slight uphill, downhill twice, flat, uphill and flat which is only 1.5 miles at best. I ran and walked it and felt like a failure the whole time. I believe that at one point I yelled at God saying, “I hate this! I don’t like doing it by myself!” And yet, I walked and ran it anyways. Why? Because I was challenged by Justin. To be more than I thought when it came to running. Am I ready for another run? Heck no, my legs are still throbbing and feel really weird still.When you are challenged by someone you love, you tend to do all you can to fulfill it because of love.

So…I wonder if Chris ever felt like giving up? Did Rachel (his wife) ever have to look at him and tell him to push through? Did the Hogans ever challenge one another when they felt like giving up?

Bible verse

Hebrews 12:1&2 – KJV

1Wherefore seeing we also are compassed about with so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which doth so easily beset us, and let us run with patience the race that is set before us, 2Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God.

These two verses say a lot.

1 – Since we have people watching us, our every move, we need to make sure they are seeing God and not us. We are ‘performing’ per se. I’ve noticed that the more we pretend to be like something the more likely we are to actually become that way.

2 – We need to remove every weight and obstacle from our doubts and fears to worries and laziness. If we are holding on to these things, it’ll slow us down. It’s like a runner holding a gallon of water in each hand during a marathon. After a while, it will slow him down and he’ll fall behind.

3 – We need to run the race with patience – aka run with a passion for Christ but not so fast that we bypass those who need our help more than anything. This applies to running real races as well. We need to run, not too fast that breathing is difficult but not too slow that we hand our opponent their victory on a silver platter. Patience is not just slowness. It’s also about the right thing at the right time.

4 – We need to realize that Jesus didn’t want to die on the cross. He endured because he saw that the end product aka our salvation in Him and the realization that we can be in heaven forever with Him was better than any pain he might experience now. Same thing with running. We continue running, when our legs feel like they’re gonna fall out, when our heart is pounding, and when we want to throw up or give in because we know that one day, we wanna run the Boston Marathon and make it to the top.

Leave a Reply

