New finds – old treasures

The other day I ran across my old camera, which had been broken for over a year, and was surprised to find that it still contained a memory card. A memory card that contained over 100 pictures from a trip to the zoo, pictures of my family from 2 years ago and other random pictures at the time. The same is true when we read our Bible. I cannot tell you how many times I have the book of Daniel or the Gospels in the NT, and yet, every time I read them, I am always finding something new.

Take this, for example: “Then with counsel and wisdom Daniel answered Arioch, the captain of the king’s guard, who had gone out to kill the wise men of Babylon;” – Daniel 2:14KJV

‘With counsel and wisdom’ – another version says, “When Arioch, chief of the royal guards, was making arrangements for the execution, Daniel wisely took him aside and quietly asked what was going on: “Why this all of a sudden?” (Message) while the NLT translation puts it like this: “When Arioch, the commander of the king’s guard, came to kill them, Daniel handled the situation with wisdom and discretion.”

Either way you slice it or dice it, the key point of this passage is this: Daniel handled it with discretion and wisdom. Too often in our own lives, we run across situations that require a state of delicacy, of discretion. Yet, we rush into them with anger, or hatred(trust me, they’re different), or love, or greed, or anything you can think of. We don’t take those ten seconds to pause and ask for guidance and end up ruining a situation. Believe me, it can happen. It can happen in love, in school, in anything we’re doing at the moment.

Below are a couple of unedited photos from my camera I found the other day. Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

