New Month, Different Life

It is the first day of September; it’s the first day of classes for me; it’s the second day since I swore into the Navy; all things that have changed or made new in the last couple of days.

 About 6 weeks ago, I walked into a recruiter’s office and started the process of joining the Navy. A process that was sped up when I scored a 93 on the ASVAB; was slowed down waiting on my high school transcripts to get approval; and ended Monday afternoon when at 1600 hours, I swore into the United States Navy. I am a CTR, and have committed the next 8, yes 8, years of my life to the Navy. Now, granted, that seems pretty long, but to me, it seemed it’ll seem quick.

Yesterday after work, my mom and I went to CCCC to register for classes now that I’m not leaving til mid-March. I found out after swearing in that if I could get 12 more credits, I could get a increase in rate by the time I hit Basic. After a long process of locating classes, deans, teachers, paying for tuition and books, I am proud to say that I have 4 classes this semester. American History 1, Survey of Econ, Art Appreciation and Theatre Appreciation are the classes to help me get 12 more credits and be an E2 at Basic.

Most of the people in my life are supportive of me joining the Navy. Their approval did not make my decision for me, mind you.

One of the verses that has been in my mind over and over again is this: If a kingdom is divided against itself, that kingdom cannot stand. And if a house is divided against itself, that house cannot stand. – Mark 3:24-25.

 My family has been cutting others down, speaking ill of them, and so on and so forth. I’ll admit, though not gladly, that I have been a part of it. My personal assignment is this: to not speak ill of family members, people I work with or anyone else; to apologize if I do; to better myself in the Word of God and my relationship with Him.

Leave a Reply

