Preconceptions – Day3 – Challenge162

Preconceptions – a mixture of the words ‘preconceived’ and ‘notion’. The phrase ‘preconceived notions’ means to form an opinion beforehand with no evidence. It falls into the same category that racism does. In fact, the two are very similar. When we are racist, which I’m not one, we seem to assume that because of someone’s skin color, that they must do, live or act a certain way.

What if I told you that I am a black girl, skinny, and very tall?? What would you think of me?

What if I was a Latino, who had several tattoos? What now?

This doesn’t just apply to skin. 9 times out of 10, if you saw me walking down the road and I was wearing a short skirt that showed off my ass, boots that came up above my knees and I had on a tight, barely buttoned shirt, you would think I was either a slut or a prostitute. I know this, because that’s what I think of when I see someone dressed that way. I know it’s wrong, but I’d rather be honest up front. How about another one? What would you think if you saw me wearing a long, loose dress that came to my ankles, my hair was in a bun, and I was wearing short, laced boots? Amish, or maybe a polygamist, right? Again, I’m being honest here.

The thing is: we all have preconceptions about people. Sometimes, they’re right and other times they’re not. We let what we know of other people influence how we form a judgment of someone before we even know them. We CANNOT judge a stranger based on the actions of a friend. We can judge the friend for their own actions, and the stranger for his, but we can’t judge someone based onĀ  what someone else has done. That my dear, leads to preconceptions and racism and down a path you don’t want to go.

That’s my short post for the day – please leave comments! I wanna know what you think of this!

Leave a Reply

