Day7 – Challenge162

I need another story, something to get off my chest
My life gets kind of boring
I need something that I can confess
’till all my sleeves are stained red
from all the truth that I’ve said
Come by it honestly, I swear
Thought you saw me wink; no
I’ve been on the brink

So tell me what you want to hear
Something that will like those ears
I’m sick of all the insincere
so I’m gonna give all my secrets away
This time, don’t need another perfect line
Don’t care if critics ever jump in line
I’m gonna give all my secrets away

My God, it’s amazing that we got this far
It’s like we’re chasing all those stars
who’s driving shiny, big, black cars
Everyday I see the news, all the problems that we can solve
and when a situation rises, just write it into an album,
send it straight to gold
But I don’t really like my flow, no

Got no reason, got no shame
Got not family I can blame
Just don’t let me disappear
I’ma tell you everything


People wonder why I don’t label music as ‘Christian’ or ‘Secular’. The reason is simple: my God is the God of my life. He speaks to my heart and knows how I feel. Most ‘secular’ artists are saying everything that I feel. They talk about being lonely, feeling unloved, falling in love and the struggles in life. Most of the ‘christian’ songs that I hear nowadays, they sound like they are people-glory driven instead of God-glory driven. I’m not saying that other artists aren’t as well but we expect that from them. We expect them to be about themselves, while we expect ‘christian’ artists to be all for God. I’m not saying that I’m a perfect Christ-follower; I still cuss, occasionally drink and talk about sex, but I’d rather listen to someone who is speaking to my life, even if they don’t mention God’s name is their songs. I’d rather have to spend my time in God’s word than listen to the ‘christian’ radio stations, anyway. Let me know what you guys think on this please.

Leave a Reply

